Built in 1844 by Capt F Cotton, WelcomHeritage Ferrnhills Royale Palace was the summer Palace of the Mysore Maharajas. It was temporarily named Moonesami and was one of Ooty’s earliest club hotels. In 1873 Ferrnhills found a new royal owner. His Highness Chamarajendra Wadiyar X, the first Indian Royal to buy an English holding in Ooty. Since then Ferrnhills Royale Palace has been with the Wadiyar dynasty and today it is successfully run in the able hands of Her Highness Promoda Devi. The heritage hotel is surrounded by over 50 acres of estate with sprawling lawns, beautiful gardens, dense forests with scenic views. The Palace is finished with Burmese teak, features a ballroom and an ornamental papiermache ceiling. The hotel boasts of 19 Regal Suites with bedrooms, sitting rooms, dressing rooms, spacious bathrooms with Jacuzzi and a multi cuisine dining area. The excursions nearby include Botanical Gardens, Ooty Lake, Dodabetta Peak, Madumalai Wildlife Sanctuary, Kotagiri village, and Kalhatty Waterfalls.